Feature of the Month: File Upload

By | 9. June 2015

When managing electronic resources, often the need may arise to not only save the information contained in a document, but to provide the original document itself.

This can mean scanned license contracts, necessary to know the exact wording of terms and conditions, as well as received invoices or balance calculations, which need to be accessed directly via the annual contract data. Another important kind of files to save are e-mail correspondances – in case of contract negotiations all ERM librarians need to know the exact wording and always be up-to-date.

Upload a file.

Upload a file.

To meet these requirements, amsl now offers a file upload.

Via the file upload, files of any kind may be attached to a document resource. This resource describes the file’s content – providing fields like “title” and “description” for further detail. When a file has been uploaded, amsl automatically adds the name of the uploading user and the date and time the file has been attached. Thus it is always eays to see, whether or not a file is up-to-date and whom to contact if questions arise.

The file has been uploaded successfully.

The file has been uploaded successfully.

The document resource again is linked from the basic or annual contact data resource. For that purpose, amsl provides several specific properties: “contract file”, “invoice file”, “balance file” as well as “mail file”. When a file with different, less usual content needs to be linked, the unspecific porperty “associated file” can be used.

In this way, one file – or, in other words, one document resource – may be linked from several different resources. A useful feature e. g. for a file containing an e-mail correspondance concerning two or more contracts. On the other hand, several files of the same type, such as partial invoices, may be linked to one single set of annual contract data.

Example with two invoice files linked to one contract.

Example with two invoice files linked to one contract.

To finally download the file, only one click is necessary after navigating to the document resource: the file can be saved.

Feature of the Month: Dateiupload

By | 9. Juni 2015

Im Electronic Resource Management müssen häufig nicht nur die Inhalte von Dokumenten gespeichert, sondern auch die Dokumentdateien selbst im Original vorgehalten werden.

Dabei kann es sich um eingescannte Verträge handeln, um etwa den genauen Wortlaut der Nutzungsbestimmungen stets griffbereit an den Vertragsbasisdaten zu speichern. Eingegangene Rechnungen oder Über- und Fehlbetragsaufrechnungen sollten von den Vertragsjahresdaten aus abrufbar sein. Und auch wichtige E-Mailkorrespondenzen zu einzelnen Verträgen müssen allen mit dem ERM betrauten Mitarbeitern zugänglich sein, um in Verhandlungen immer auf dem aktuellen Stand zu sein.

Eine Datei hochladen.

Eine Datei hochladen.

Zu diesem Zweck bietet amsl nun einen Dateiupload an.

Dabei können Dateien an eine Ressource des Typs “Dokument” angehängt werden. Diese Ressource beschreibt den Inhalt der Datei – mit den Feldern “Titel” und “Beschreibung” für weitere inhaltliche Details. Nach dem Upload wird außerdem angezeigt, welcher Nutzer die Datei wann hochgeladen hat: somit ist immer klar nachvollziehbar, ob es sich um eine aktuelle Version handelt und wer im Zweifelsfall zu kontaktieren ist.

Die Datei wurde erfolgreich hochgeladen.

Die Datei wurde erfolgreich hochgeladen.

Die Dokumentressource wird dann von den Vertragsbasis- oder -jahresdaten aus verlinkt. Dazu gibt es spezielle Eigenschaften wie “Vertragsdatei”, “Rechnungsdatei”, “Über- und Fehlbetragsdatei” sowie “Schriftverkehrsdatei”. Um auch andere, weniger häufig benötigte Dateien zu verknüpfen, kann auch die übergeordnete Eigenschaft “Zugehörige Datei” ausgewählt werden.

Eine Datei kann so von verschiedenen Ressourcen aus verknüpft werden – nützlich beispielsweise für eine Datei mit gespeichertem E-Mailverkehr, der von mehreren Verträgen handelt. Anders herum ist es natürlich auch möglich, mehrere gleichartige Dateien mit einer Ressource zu verknüpfen, etwa wenn mehrere Teilrechnungen zu einem Vertrag vorliegen.

Beispiel mit zwei verknüpften Rechnungsdateien an einem Vertrag.

Beispiel mit zwei verknüpften Rechnungsdateien an einem Vertrag.

Der Download schließlich geschieht einfach über einen Klick in der Dokumentressource: die Datei kann gespeichert werden.