Preview: New Features in Progress

By | 31. March 2015

Over the past few weeks we were busily developing new features for amsl. The two main changes soon to be implemented will be firstly a considerable improvement of the search index and secondly the automatic import of COUNTER usage statistics.

Configure Index

The new index configuration page

With the new index version it will be possible to create knowledgebase-specific indexes, making the amsl search index consortially applicable: when searching amsl, any user will only see results for knowledgebases he has reading access to. In this way several institutions’ contents will be strictly seperated in the search process. Besides, the classes to be indexed will be definable for single knowledgebases, reducing indexing time and size. It will also be possible to define certain knowledgebases as direct access knowledgebases, which will only be searchable when directly accessed – a useful feature in particular when managing templates or vocabularies.

One of the basic requirements for amsl is the support of usage statistics in COUNTER format. The importer for XML files is currently being completed, as well as the automatic update process via SUSHI protocol. Thus COUNTER data will soon be storable and – via uploaded title lists – linked to contract data in amsl.

When the new features will be deployed on the live and demo systems, we will let you know on the blog at once.

Both new features will be ready for the 104th German Library Day in Nuremberg at the latest – at our workshop on Thursday, May 28, 9:00 am -11:00 am (Room Riga) there will be plenty of time to test and discuss those new along with other amsl features. We are looking forward to meet you in Nuremberg!

Vorschau: Neue Features in Arbeit

By | 31. März 2015

Auch in den letzten Wochen wurde natürlich fleißig weiter entwickelt, um neue Features in amsl zu implementieren. Insbesondere wird an einer Verbesserung des Suchindexes sowie an der automatischen Importfunktion für COUNTER-Statistiken gearbeitet.

Configure Index

Die neue Konfigurationsseite für den Index

Die neue Indexversion wird es ermöglichen, Indizes wissensbasisspezifisch zu erstellen. Dadurch wird eine konsortiale Nutzung des Indexes ermöglicht: Bei der Suche in amsl werden dem Nutzer nur noch Ergebnisse aus Wissensbasen angezeigt, auf welche er tatsächlich Lesezugriff hat – beispielsweise ist dadurch also auch in der Suche die strenge Unterscheidung zwischen Institutionen möglich. Weiterhin werden auf Wissensbasisebene die zu indizierenden Klassen definierbar sein, wodurch Indizierungsdauer sowie Größe des Indexes deutlich verringert werden können. Zudem wird es möglich sein, einzelne Wissensbasen nur dann zu durchsuchen, wenn diese aktiv ausgewählt sind – dies ist beispielsweise bei der Verwaltung von Templates und Vokabularen nützlich.

Eine wichtige Grundanforderung an amsl stellt die Unterstützung von Nutzungsstatistiken im COUNTER-Format dar. Der Import von XML-Dateien wird momentan realisiert, ebenso der automatisierte Abruf über das SUSHI-Protokoll. Dadurch werden bald COUNTER-Daten in amsl speicherbar und über hochgeladene Titellisten mit Vertragsdaten verknüpft sein.

Über die Fertigstellung der Features und deren Ausrollung im Live- und Demosystem werden wir hier im Blog berichten.

Beide Neuerungen werden spätestens bis zum Bibliothekartag in Nürnberg implementiert sein – bei unserem Workshop am Donnerstag, 28. Mai, 9:00 – 11:00 Uhr (Raum Riga) wird genug Zeit sein, diese neuen und andere amsl-Features zu testen und zu diskutieren. Wir freuen uns, Sie in Nürnberg zu treffen!